Album Previews: February 2021

Here we take a look at what albums are being released this month:

Foo Fighters – Medicine At Midnight
Release Date: February 5th

Whenever Foo Fighters announce a new album, it’s always going to be one of the most anticipated albums of the year. ‘Medicine At Midnight’ is their 10th studio album and follows Concrete and Gold, 2017. According to Dave Grohl, the band concentrated on the groove of each song and likened the album’s sound to ‘Let’s Dance’ by David Bowie. The three singles that have been released so far all vary in sound. Lead single ‘Shame Shame’ most notably taking on a new feel of the Foo Fighters, ‘No Son of Mine’ the most straight up rock anthem and lastly ‘Waiting on a War’, that sounds like something straight from ‘Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace’. The album was recorded in an old house in Encino, Los Angeles. Grohl mentioned that there were strange and supernatural things going on during the time at the studio.

Slowthai – TYRON
Release Date: February 5th

This is the second album from British rapper, Tyron Kaymone Frampton, better known as Slowthai. His debut album, ‘Nothing Great About Britain’ was released in 2019 and was nominated for the Mercury Prize. There are several big names features in the track listing, most notably from Skepta, A$AP Rocky and James Blake. Slowthai has released two songs that are set to feature on ‘TYRON’; Feel Away and NHS. The album title would suggest a self-reflective aspect to the lyrics, with Slowthai saying the album was created in a difficult time of his life.

Pale Waves – Who Am I?
Release Date: February 12th

The highly anticipated follow up to debut album ‘My Mind Makes Noises’ is just around the corner, with ‘Who Am I?’ set to be released in a couple of weeks. After an impressive debut, Pale Waves have certainly made a name for themselves and gone through quite a bit since the 2018 release. Most notably a road accident in March 2020 where the band thought they were going to die. Although the band only sustained minor injuries, what happened would stick with band after he injuries would heal. So far we’ve heard four singles; Change, She’s My Religion, Easy and You Don’t Own Me. All four heavily influenced by artists like Avril Lavigne, Courtney Love and Alanis Morissette. Leaving behind the electronic indie pop style for a more
alternative 90s rock sound.

Architects – For Those That Wish to Exist
Release Date: February 12th

Metalcore as a genre has been prominent since the mid-90s and early 2000s. Bands like Architects would help the rise in popularity with back to back albums ‘Hollow Crown’ and ‘The Here and Now’ either side of 2010. With new sub-genres emerging, Metalcore either lost traction, became stale or few would emerge better from it, Bring Me the Horizon of the latter. Lead single ‘Animals’ production and instrumentation sonically pulls inspiration from Bring Me the Horizon. Follow up singles ‘Black Lungs’ and ‘Dead Butterflies’ showcases a slight variety and depth the album could offer. ‘For Those That Wish To Exist’ will be the bands ninth studio album and questions the human races inability to change to save the planet. A relevant and fitting question once again in 2021.

Cloud Nothings – The Shadow I Remember
Release Date: February 26th

Cloud Nothings have had a busy year or so in terms of writing new material releasing two self-released albums last year; ‘The Black Hole Understands’ and ‘Life Is Only One Event’. Now, the band will release their ninth studio album 11 years on from their debut album. This album also sees the band work alongside producer Steve Albini once again, in the same studio they first recorded in together. The noise rock outfit have released three singles in the build up to the new album; ‘Am I Something’, ‘The Spirit Of’ and ‘Nothing Without You’. Each single promises an album full of catchy hooks curtesy of singer-songwriter Dylan Baldi combined with a rough, DIY aggressive style that we’ve become accustomed to with Cloud Nothings.

Julien Baker – Little Obvious
Release Date: February 26th

Singer-songwriter Julien Baker is back with her third studio album, ‘Little Obvious’. Julien’s last album ‘Turn Out the Lights’ received high praises and critical reception back in 2017. Julien has since gone on to perform with the likes of Pheobe Bridgers and Hayley Williams. The first single, ‘Faith Healer ‘was released in October 2020. This sees Julien sing about substance abuse and different insidious vices that humans experience. Her bleak, instinctive indie folk sound resonating throughout the album’s second single ‘Hardline’. The album is set to feature 12 tracks and run 42 minutes and 39 seconds.

Twenty One Pilots are in the Christmas spirit

Previous article

Pale Waves announce 2022 tour

Next article

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *